Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Pickups and SUV reviews

We can talk about pickup trucks and SUV and express our opinions and experience with them.

The Opel Insignia is a great car.

Hello and welcome to my post!

I recently test drove a used silver Opel Insignia, manual transmission (I'm not sure what year it was from, but it was definitely a model between year 2008-2016 and well maintained). In parts of the world it's marketed as the Holden Insignia, Vauxhall Insignia and Buick Regal, with slightly different trims and build to match the transport laws and safety regulations.

The Opel Insignia I test drove was adorable, I love the looks of the car, the wheels were cool (not my best but hey, it's fine!) the interior was very assuring. I'm only 18, a student, so as a student I find those kind of vehicles pretty ideal. The interior does have cheap styling and light quality at areas but once again, the Insignia is no luxury car like a BMW or Audi.

The electronic handbrake was fine, just made a mechanical noise each time I engaged and disengaged the handbrake, but it's cool with me because it's nothing to do with the car having bad reliability or so (if there is an issue within the car, the dashboard would give a warning, it's a standard technical advancement with all cars of today, where the dashboard tells you the health of your car).

The drive was comforting and sturdy. The car was excellent! The steering wheel turning felt extremely smooth/soft as if the front wheels were in midair, That is something I personally like! Most reviews I've read always complained about the Insignia having numb/lifeless steering wheels, but from my personal experience, I don't see what's so bad in that, I just found the car more relaxing to drive, plus the car was very maneuverable and had a small turning radius like hatchbacks! So far so good. The only negative impression I had during the drive was the fact that the acceleration was kind of sluggish, either that, or I wasn't putting enough gas when I needed to, because whenever I did an acceleration that was steady and not sluggish, the engine would be loud (which is generally something that doesn't comfort me), but it's something I can live with, I would fancy an automatic transmission more though! Some cars built to sound loud regardless of how much effort you try in keeping the engine at a calm stage.

In my opinion, the biggest problem is people expect too much the insignia,

I read a Reddit forum where someone was talking about the Opel Insignia, that sentence where he wrote "On the Autobahn at the speed of 210 km/h, you have to break sweat to keep the car straight".

And I was like, "No duh, it's not a sports car man!" I was even wondering why talk about the Opel insignia's speed when logically in the real world, nobody would drive that fast with a car like that, if speed really is a big desire, why not purchase a new or used BMW?!

The Opel Insignia is not a luxury or performance car, it's a versatile car which has a bit of all trades.

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post