Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Pickups and SUV reviews

We can talk about pickup trucks and SUV and express our opinions and experience with them.

Renault Koleos and Skoda Kodiaq, my thoughts of the both SUVs.

Hello and welcome to my blog post!

 

So recently I had the chance to visit both car dealers: Renault and Skoda. But before I jump into those SUVs, I would like to say, I am truly flabbergasted at how great Renault and Skoda are doing nowadays. 

Renault and Skoda were once known as the laughing stock brands, back in the 1990s and 2000s, as far as I know. They both had severe problems: Renault had reliability and quality problems, whilst Skoda had image and driver's appeal problems. See where this is going? I get the feeling they both had opposite benefits and problems. Renault on the bright side were always innovative and stylish, whilst Skoda on the bright side were always well-built and durable. 

But now, time has changed, both brands have sky-rocketed in fame! Humiliating to some of the brands from the premium market. Renault has allied with Nissan, and now has been building sturdy and reliable cars. Skoda on the other hand has been receiving a lot of respect and attention from Volkswagen, and has been building versatile and qualitative cars.

 

Now jumping to the SUVs which both brands have just released! The Renault Koleos and the Skoda Kodiaq! 

I will start with the Renault Koleos. So I enter the Renault dealer, just casually looking around until I look to the left only to notice something like a Nissan Patrol Y62 (the 6th generation from 2010, with the curvy designs), but shrunken to the size of a X-trail. Yes, that's right, it is the Renault Koleos! I reminded me of the Nissan Patrol Y62, just smaller in size! I was very attracted to the design of the SUV. Looking at it from different exterior angles, I couldn't help but admire those "muscles" or curvy design of the body, around the wheels and exterior. I then went inside the car, and I have to say it was very cozy. The interior was so solid built, it actually reminded me of a large Japanese 4x4. A lot of the materials were leather wrapped. The idea of have a large screen on the dashboard was very unique, Renault seems to have done it for the sake of innovations, and convenience as well. So I will admit something... I love the Renault Koleos, but I'll avoid being biased. I will only say the SUV is an acquired taste, it does have its problems too, like it's curvy design may not appeal to sport design enthusiasts. The Renault Koleos is nothing close to sporty, but rather something of a typically mass market car. To conclude, the Renault Koleos is basically a Nissan X-trail, but more attractive and innovative in design!

Now over to the Skoda Kodiaq. I enter the Skoda dealer, looking the cars until my attention comes to what looked like an over-grown Skoda Superb, yup that's right, it was Skoda Kodiaq! I must say I did find it more premium-looking, in other words; luxurious! Similar to that of Volkswagen! The SUV seemed sporty, with it's sharp exterior designs and premium quality materials used throughout the SUV! Sitting on the driver seat reminded me a bit of a van, or large SUV, very decent since it give some people confidence while driving, and better view outside. I will say that the best thing I've noticed about the Skoda Kodiaq, would be it's versatility. It had seven seats, plenty of storage spaces, and lots of accessories! I was pleased with the Skoda Kodiaq overall. The Skoda Kodiaq is basically an MPV (minivan), with the shape of an SUV, because of it's versatility. The SUV is an acquired taste, it does have it's problems too, like the interior seeming a bit dull/conventional (despite high quality materials), and the sharp design at the exterior, which may not appeal to everyone. To conclude, the Skoda Kodiaq is basically a Volkswagen Tiguan, but with the versatility of an MPV (or like a Swiss army knife), capable of handling different tasks.

Now, to sum it all up, the Renault Koleos feels big and looks big, whilst the Skoda feels big and looks small, but sportier. The Renault Koleos is innovative and well designed, whilst the Skoda is versatile and higher quality. 

So where does this end? Who are these SUVs built for? From my observation, and gathering of thoughts, the Renault Koleos appears to be targeting the premium rivals (Mercedes, Audi, BMW, Volvo, etc), using innovation and Nissan's technology (and reliability) as a weapon/trump card the premium rivals. The Renault Koleos would be in the same league as the Peugeot 5008, the fact that the SUVs are targeting the premium rivals.

Whilst the Skoda Kodiaq, being owned by Volkswagen, has a desire of targeting the midsize SUV's market, using versatility combined with Volkswagen quality as their weapon/trump card. The Skoda Kodiaq appears to be in the same league as the Toyota RAV4 and Honda CR-V, the fact that these SUVs lack the desire of targeting the premium rivals, and prefer to remain and compete in the mass market.

To conclude, I would pick the Renault Koleos over the Skoda Kodiaq! But I must say, the Skoda Kodiaq is a great car to pick out of the two, if you have family and children, or *ahem* if you have plenty of bicycle training to do? 

Thank you and please don't hesitate to share your thoughts and opinions.

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post